The Kerala Management Association (KMA) successfully hosted the Sustainability Summit and CSR Awards Night at the Kaloor Gokulam Convention Centre, emphasizing the critical role of poverty eradication in achieving sustainability. The event, graced by esteemed personalities and industry leaders, provided a platform for discussions on corporate social responsibility (CSR), environmental, social, and governance (ESG) initiatives, and recognized organizations for their outstanding contributions to society and nature.

The summit was inaugurated by former Union Minister and senior media personality, MJ Akbar, who underscored the nexus between poverty eradication and sustainability. In his address, he emphasized the need for governments to lead the charge in fostering positive change and drew inspiration from Mahatma Gandhi’s teachings on cleanliness and freedom.

Keynote speaker Nixon Joseph, CEO of CLT India, highlighted the growing emphasis on social responsibility among corporates in Kerala, emphasizing that corporate success should be measured not solely by profit but by the positive impact on society and the environment.

Distinguished speakers, including Geojit Financial Services Managing Director C.J George, Meeran Group Chairman Nawaz Meeran, Muthoot Pappachan Group CMD Thomas John Muthoot, Synthite Industries Joint Managing Director Aju Jacob, and XLRI Prof. Kalyan Bhaskar, delivered insightful lectures on various aspects of sustainability and CSR.

The highlight of the evening was the presentation of CSR, ESG, and NGO Awards 2024 to organizations that have demonstrated exemplary commitment to social and environmental causes. Notable awardees included Aster Med City, Synthite Industries, Adani Vizhinjam Port and BPCL- Kochi Refinery in the CSR Health category. In the CSR Education category, Nita Gelatin India Limited, Plant Lipids Private Limited, US Technology and BPCL Kochi Refinery were awarded. In CSR Social Inclusion, Aster Med City, Adani Vizhinjam Port, Cochin Shipyard and Aptiv Connection Systems won the award. Punarjiva Technology Solutions won the Special Jury Award in this category. Mathrubhumi, Apollo Tyres and Federal Bank were awarded in the CSR Environment category .Aptive Connection Systems and US Technology were awarded in the ESG category and K Chitilappalli Foundation in the NGO category. Muthoot Pappachan Foundation and ESAF bagged the Special Jury Award in this category.

KMA President A. Balakrishnan presided over the function, with Secretary Dileep Narayanan and Senior Vice President Bibu Punnooran providing valuable insights.